Leek and Potato Soup with Taleggio

12 Jan

Reviewed by: Tort Fire

Magic Theme: Soups & Stews

I made this last week, but I haven’t sent it b/c I wanted to include the pics I took too. This is another recipe from Jamie Oliver’s app and I had to make quite a few modifications b/c I wasn’t thinking when I was shopping and still had my shopping list set for 2 people even though I wanted to make 4 servings worth. I think the soup turned out really good despite my changes and I just finished the last bit yesterday for lunch!
Also, this was included in his “20 min recipes” section. That is a load of crap. Or maybe I’m just a really slow grater, but it did not take me 20 minutes.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large onion
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 4 medium leeks (I only had two)
  • 1 pat butter
  • 6 cups vegetable broth (I only had four, so I used 2 cups of chicken broth)
  • 3 medium potatoes
  • 1 small bunch fresh thyme
  • 5 oz creme fraiche (I couldn’t not find this so I just used 3 tbs of sour cream and 3 of heavy whipping cream. I saw recipes of how to make creme fraiche, but I’d need at least 12 hours… boooo. I may actually try to make some this week though)
  • 5 oz taleggio cheese (I used fontina instead)
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • extra virgin olive oil

1. Roughly chop your onion and celery.


2. Trim leeks and halve them length ways, then cut across into chunks. Rinse well under cold water and put aside to drain.
3. Place a pot on low to medium heat and add a pat of butter.
4. Once butter has melted, add your chopped veggies, a lug of olive oil, and a splash of water. Cover with a lid and cook for 8-10 minutes, or until the veggies have softened. Meanwhile…


5. Fill the another pot with the vegetable broth and bring it to a gentle simmer over a medium heat.
6. Peel the potatoes then roughly grate them.  Add to the pan of simmering broth to cook for 5 minutes. Meanwhile…
7. Pick the thyme leaves from half your sprigs and put to one side. Add the stalks and the rest of the sprigs to the stock.
8. When the potatoes are cooked through, fish out the thyme stalks and sprigs using tongs and get rid of them.
9. Pour the broth mixture into the pan of softened vegetables and bring everything to a boil.
10. Stir the creme fraiche into the soup then let bubble away for a couple of minutes. Meanwhile chop the taleggio into chunks.
11. Take the soup off the heat and stir in the chunks of taleggio. Give the soup a good whiz with a hand blender until it’s smooth and creamy (Or painstankingly food process a few ladles at a time if you don’t have a hand blender like me.)
12. Taste the soup, season with a pinch of salt and pepper.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

