Black Bottom Cupcakes

18 Jan

Reviewed by: Tort Fire

Magic Theme: “Black” & “White” -recipes had to include a black ingredient and a white ingredient

I went the obvious route for the black and white theme. The first batch Sean and I tried was ok, but I think Sean overfilled the cake part so the bottom was not as moist and delicious as I’d like. We had better luck with the second batch where he held back on the cake part and I was much more generous with the cheesecake part. I don’t agree with the original recipe (found on Allrecipes.com) that this recipe makes 24 cupcakes. I’d say maybe 18 if you aren’t as generous with the cake part as we were. Speaking of being too generous with the cake part, I ran out of that part before the cheesecake part so I tried to make more of it. Since I knew I didn’t need a full batch, I halved it. Unfortunately, I forgot the baking soda. It’s amazing what a difference that makes.
Baking soda-less cupcakes. 😦
Ingredients
  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt (I did not add this b/c a review said it wasn’t necessary)
  • 1 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips (It looks like too much in the batter, but it’s not)
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon cider vinegar (I didn’t use this b/c all I had was white vinegar and I didn’t know if that would make a difference)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line muffin tins with paper cups or lightly spray with non-stick cooking spray.
  2. In a medium bowl, beat the cream cheese, egg, 1/3 cup sugar and 1/8 teaspoon salt until light and fluffy. Stir in the chocolate chips and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, mix together the flour, 1 cup sugar, cocoa, baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Make a well in the center and add the water, oil, vinegar and vanilla. Stir together until well blended. Fill muffin tins 1/3 full with the batter and top with a dollop of the cream cheese mixture. 
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes. (maybe we overcooked them since I kept it in until a knife came out relatively clean. About 35 min) 



Leave a comment