Ides of March: Pork Souvlaki

24 Mar

Reviewed by: Tortalicious

So I made this a long time ago, I’m just very lazy typing it up. I know soy sauce isn’t exactly Greek; okay, it’s not Greek at all. This is a bastardization of real souvlaki, but good nonetheless. Personally, I thought it was a little too salty but Rick LOVED it. You can also use this marinade for all sorts of meats, not just pork.

I didn’t grill them, but stuck the entire marinade in the oven for 25min at 400F. I then removed the pork and veggies and added a tbsp of cornstarch to the left over marinade to thicken it up. If I was actually using the full 4lbs of tenderloin (I only used 1lb) I’d double the marinade.

Souvlaki (altered from allrecipes.com)

  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 4 pounds pork tenderloin, cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 2 medium yellow onions, cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 2 green bell peppers, cut into 1 inch pieces
  1. In a large glass bowl, mix together lemon juice, olive oil, soy sauce, oregano, and garlic; add pork, onions, and green peppers, and stir to coat. Cover, and refrigerate for 2 to 3 hours.
  2. Preheat oven 400F. Cook for 25min in marinade until pork is done.
  3. Turn off oven. Remove veggies and pork. Add 1 tbsp cornstarch to marinade and place back in cooling oven for a few minutes.

 

Leave a comment