CopyCat: Ben & Jerry’s Mint Oreo Ice Cream

7 Jul

Reviewed by: New York Tort
Magic Theme: Copycat- Find a famous recipe and recreate your own

When I got the ice cream maker for my birthday, Tortnado recommended I buy the Ben & Jerry’s Homemade Ice Cream and Dessert Book and use something for the Copy Cat challenge.
I chose the Mint Oreo Ice Cream because Oreos are my favorite and I was curious about using real mint in my recipe. However, Ben & Jerry’s recipe uses mint extract instead of real mint! I did a lot of research to see how to make ice cream with fresh mint, but ultimately I decided to follow the recipe. I chose to use the extract because I had some leftover from a Candy Cane Christmas recipe and also because fresh mint takes longer because you need to heat it and steep it in milk and cream and that takes a bit longer.
In my opinon, the extract has a powerful mint flavor that smells great, but I think the taste is a bit too extract-y and processed for me. It has a bite I don’t associate with fresh mint. This is not to say it’s not a great recipe, I’ve eaten bowls of this ice cream for breakfast, but next time I make it I’m going to try the fresh mint process and just add the Oreos. I’m interested in the comparison, and when I do it I’ll report back.
Anyway here’s the recipe and it is delicious. What’s better than mint and oreos?! Um… almost nothing.
Ingredients:
  • 2/3 cup coarsely chopped Oreo cookies
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 cup milk (I used whole milk)
  • 2 teaspoons peppermint extact
1. Place the cookies in a bowl, cover, and refrigerate.
2. Whisk the eggs in a mixing bowl until light and fluffy, 1 to 2 minutes. Whisk in the sugar, a little at a time, then continue whisking until completely blended, about 1 minute more. Pour in the cream and milk and whisk to blend. Add the peppermint extract and blend again.
 
2a. Cover the bowl and put it in the fridge for 1 hour (The cookbook doesn’t have this step, but my ice cream maker recommends that the ingredient be nice and cold before putting it into the machine)
3. Transfer the mixture to an ice cream maker and freeze following the manufacturer’s instructions.
4. After the ice cream stiffens (about 2 minutes before its done) add the chopped cookies and then continue freezing until the ic cream is ready.
Makes slightly more than 1 quart.

Leave a comment